Home again

I have been out of town for the past week. Spent it near Mt Hood with my friend who I have traveled with to England almost annually since 1998. At this time of year we would normally be across the pond, but we stuck close to home instead.

the back of the lodge

We had a very relaxing week. We have a presentation to give on Wednesday to our British Travel group that meets monthly in Salem. I am talking about Lacock Abbey and Henry Fox Talbot, who is considered the ‘father of photography’. Through his experiments he invented the first paper negative and discovered a way to make the print permanent. My friend is speaking on Bess Hardwick who was the second richest woman under Elizabeth I. While I sat and quilted for hours a day, Doris read to me from the book, Bess of Hardwick. We felt so lazy. The book is fascinating and she managed to read all 400+ pages to me. I finished a lot of the quilt. (I took pinhole photos of our days inside the cabin and they are at the lab now)

crossing the river

texture

moss and leaves

growing out of a dead stump

We did venture outside, walking along the river and spending one evening up at Timberline. We were hoping for a nice sunset but the clear skies just made for a nice evening but no gorgeous sunsets. We also shared a cheese fondue in the lodge while we exposed some film in our pinhole cameras.

time for a drink

waits for snow

it’s so dry

We had a beautiful dry week. Warm days and cold nights. Nightly fires in the wood stove. Then Friday, just as we packed up the car to head home, the rains came. We haven’t seen rain in months and although I prefer sunshine, the rain is welcome for greening up our forests.

waiting for winter

 

Now I need to do all the laundry. Or…..maybe I’ll start planning my next get-away.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Oregon, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

