Apples, pears, polaroids and my Hasselblad

We’ve had such bright sun in Portland for more than 2 months….a rare treat. I am not complaining however, it’s not easy to take nice photos outside with the all this brightness. Today I decided to put my Polaroid back onto my Hasselblad and make some still life studies of fruit.

I shot them in color and then converted to black and white to see which I would like better. I also changed my back drops and my table top. My conclusion is that I like black on black. I need to go buy some black velvet fabric to continue with this series. Using one black fabric for the background and another for the table top doesn’t work. Black is not always black.

I did not like the taupe background at all. And I feel the plaid competes with the fruit unless the photo is b&w.

 

As for the hands holding the pear, the subject needs to wear black to blend in with the background and let the pear pop off the screen.

It was a fun morning doing this and when the rains return, and they will, I have many items in my house that will make great subjects and keep me busy for awhile.

(I let these develop for 3 minutes before separating the backing. My house was at 70 degrees.)

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Photography, Polaroid and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

