An old hobby is new again

I’ve taken up quilting again. It’s been years since I made a quilt. I got the bug when I visited a quilt store and saw a red, black and white quilt hanging on the wall and thought it would be great in my London friend’s bedroom because she changed her room to those colors.

So I bought the fabric, some $100 worth, shocked at how much the price of fabric has gone up. But I was ready to go. It wasn’t long when I realized that making the one quilt wouldn’t do. There are two girls in the house and so I’d have to make a second one. I used to stretch the pieced quilts out on my kitchen floor to baste them together, but it my new house I can’t do that so I had to push the furniture aside in the dining room. For several days I kneeled on the floor basting the layers together. My aching back. I used my pinhole camera to record the event. You can barely see my ghostly form as I move around the quilt. The exposure time was 40 minutes.

In the mean time I have been searching out quilt shops and taking photos of samples. Oh, and my stack of fabric is growing. I have decided to make more quilts for the children of my friends. Maybe when I am dead and gone they will cuddle under these quilts and remember me. My Grandmother made a quilt for me and I have had it since I was 8. The fabrics are ugly, but I love it. I won’t tell you how long I have had the quilt…..but a long time. With care, these quilts can last a hundred years or more.

I still quilt by hand. The two quilts I am working on were first hand apliqued. Many people now quilt on the machine, but I like the softness and the  look of a hand sewn quilt. Then again, now that I have worked on these quilts for almost 6 months, stitching every day for hours, I understand the lure of the sewing machine. Thank goodness I can spread out in my media room, pop in a DVD, and stitch away.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Photography, pinhole and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

