Soccer match with my Spinner 360

The second season for the Portland Timbers in the MLS is quickly coming to an end. I have a feeling that the managers, coaches and team members are ready to see it end and look forward to next year and starting again. The Timbers are second from the bottom in the MLS standings. Not very good, but I will give them some slack because changes happened this season: the coach was fired and the first team line-up was changed.

I don’t think the firing of the coach was very popular with the fans.  There were several protest signs being held up during some of the matches. Then the highly paid and anticipated player from Scotland, Chris Boyd, was taken out of the line-up. At the beginning of the season, the number one scorer for Scotland, had played really well, scoring in almost every match. Then something happened. He was out of position, missed opportunities to put the ball in the net and just seemed slow. With Spencer, the coach and the man who brought Boyd to Portland at a very high cost gone, it seems Boyd’s days in Portland could be numbered. How can the highest scorer in Scotland come to little old Portland and do so badly? I have no idea.

We are loving the matches and sit in the Portland Army where singing starts well before the match and doesn’t stop until several minutes after. No one sits. If you are in the Army, and we are several thousand strong, then be prepared to stand and shout. On the last day-time match I took along my Spinner camera for a little 360 degree view of the Army and the pitch.

I really like this low-fi camera from Lomography. At under $100 it’s a fun toy camera that takes a photo by pulling a string. The camera quickly whips around and voila, a full round view. The trick for me is staying out of the photo. Sometimes my hand gets in the way or my husband’s head when he tries to hide behind me. A lot of Spinner users like being in their photos…not me. I just want to be behind the camera. I’m getting better at it.

The camera uses 35 mm film and I usually use 400 speed. My only complaint is that you don’t have a film counter and so you don’t know when you are at the end of the roll until you can’t pull the string any more. That usually happens right when I am taking an important photo. Well, maybe not really important, but certainly one I want. I get somewhere between 6 and 8 photos per roll so guess I need to start counting. You can turn the camera to get a vertical aspect but I usually shoot in the horizontal.

Scanning is a bit tricky because you need to buy a holder from Lomography to be able to keep the sprocket holes in your scans. You can buy them on their website. If you don’t care about the sprocket holes then you can use the 35 mm holders that come with the higher end Epson scanners. I use the Epson V700 and the holder from Lomography. Adjusting the curves and levels in the scan is hindered a little bit by the black sprocket holes, but a little adjusting in Lightroom or some other editing program will fix this. None of it is very difficult or time-consuming to achieve a decent result.

The camera is a bit bulky to carry in my camera bag with my other cameras so I usually just take it with me when I really know I want to do 360 views. A Saturday afternoon at the Timber’s Jeld-Wen field seemed the perfect day. I’m just hoping for more sunny days this Fall to get out and play with my Spinner a bit more.

I’d also like to know how to publish these photos so they cane be viewed larger.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in film, Photography, Portland and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Soccer match with my Spinner 360

  1. nessavay says:

    Yes! I would love to be able to look closer at these bit over all, they look great!

Leave a Reply

