One more Fair to go

I think I mentioned that I am working on a series about our county fairs in Oregon. There are a lot of them and I have barely touched the surface. This summer I have concentrated on the area near Portland, but I hope eventually to make it to all the counties in Oregon.  That will take me years as they all seem to take place during the months of July and August.

raising our flag

it was a hot day

gaming

The Clackamas County Fair in Canby is the last county fair I will do this year. Next week it will be the Oregon State Fair and that kind of closes the season for the fairs.

Fair Sights

sleepy time

bad hair day

always time for a few Zs

pirate on high

he fit the part

the old miner

The Tillamook County fair is one of my favorites, but I’d have to say that Clackamas is right near the top. They do a great job putting this on. It’s clean and well organized. There are 5 days of rodeo and I managed to see part of the opening night’s. The announcer said it was the biggest rodeo in the country and then later talked about another rodeo and said IT was the biggest in the country. Is someone full of hot air? I think so.

Rodeo Nights

that darn wire cut through all my rodeo photos_time for Photoshop

herding

a wild ride

this is when I have to leave. I feel sorry for the calves

I had my required corn dog and lemonade. Boy, this was the best one I’d had all summer: real 100% beef and hand dipped. Bad for you, but you have to do it. before the night was over I also had the vanilla ice cream bar dipped in chocolate and nuts. Maybe that diet starts in September.

Holga food cart

too many lemons?make lemonade

I’ll follow you anywhere

food break in the shade

A fair isn’t a fair without the carnie games and entertainment.

balloon animals

man in gray

do you really want to win a giant banana?

kids playing games

I want it

It was a gorgeous night, warm and clear. There were not many people on the rides, but I was still able to get a few pix of the lights even though the tripod was in my car. I imagine that the weekend was more crowded, but this night was perfect and I had a good time.

Midway Lights

colored bulbs

food lights

night time people

want to ride? NO

dizzy lights

One more Fair to go.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in American Roadside, Clackamas County, County fairs, film, Holga, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

