Animals, food, rides and more: it must be county fair time

A couple of weeks ago I spent a few days at the beach with my friends Lori, Nellie and Maggie. It was Maggie’s last few days in Oregon before she was setting off for a new life and new job in Las Vegas. What an adventure she will have. Before she could go we had to have one last hurrah at Lori’s beach house in Oceanside and it just happened to correspond with the Tillamook County Fair. As it turned out, Maggie (age 22) said she had never been to a county fair. Oh dear, was she in for a treat and a big surprise.

come to the fair

The 2012 theme of the fair was  “Party til the Cows go Home”. Tillamook county is dairy land and home to the Tillamook Cheese factory. They make wonderful cheddar cheese and smooth tasty ice cream. So the fair has a bit of a dairy bent and there are cows all over the place.

discussing their fate

 

thanks, I’ll pass

now that’s some milk

 

Maggie touches her first cow

Maggie

 

Maggie and Nellie

being a good sport

We had planned to see the ‘pig and Ford’ races but we were given the wrong start time and we got there just as they ended. It’s too bad because it is so funny to watch the guys grab a pig and try to hold it under their arm while they race around a dirt track in a chassis of an old Model T Ford. Lots of squeals from the pigs and fans alike. I am glad I got to experience it once when the Brits were visiting in 2010.

Pig and Ford races

“oink”

 

a nap before the slaughter

“free me”

this little piggy goes to market

The fair experience could not be complete without fair food: corn dogs, curly fries and Elephant ears. There is no dieting at the fair.

this way for food

 

Nellie waits for food

corn dogs

helping eat my elephant ear

And don’t forget the rides and people watching.

people watching

Lori and Maggie wait their turn

kids love the fair

I had to go home the next day for a class and an Old English Sheepdog walk-about, but I am glad I got to spend this time with Lori and her girls. Next get together may just have to be in Vegas.

end of a good day

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in County fairs, film, Photography, Tillamook and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

