A new Oregon beach for me

I’ve been going to the Oregon coast a lot lately, especially since I moved 6 years ago. I think I have been to the beach more times in those 6 years then in the previous 30. After I gave up the big house and garden I am able to hit the road more often. The other day I was going to meet my 3 friends at Oceanside for 3 days of rest and the Tillamook County Fair.

people on the beach

I decided to leave early and wander up the Oregon coast starting at Neskowin. There’s a cute little cafe there and I was hungry for breakfast. I left home at 7:00 a.m. and 90 minutes later I was parking my car in front of the restaurant. “OH NO”, it’s closed! How can that be? It’s about the ONLY restaurant in Neskowin. Now what? I decide to park the car anyway and go for a walk on the beach. The morning light was nice and it would soon be replaced by the forecast of blasting sun. This was my first time setting foot on the Neskowin sand.

Neskowin

Neskowin’s prominent feature is the tree-lined basalt sea-stack known as Proposal Rock. A newer feature is the petrified tree stumps. I was told that after a storm they washed up on shore and have been standing watch ever since.  The tide was high and I could not get as close as I would have liked. It’s also best to wear flip-flops because you have to cross Slab Creek which empties into the pacific Ocean. I watched a dog cross first to see where it was shallow…..still almost knee-deep.

the tree-lined rock

Slab Creek leading to the ocean

I can see Cape Kiwanda

 

seeing blue

There were a few people out for early walks and photo ops. I walked along the water’s edge for about an hour before I headed back to my car and the search for FOOD.

walkers

photo op_Cape Kiwanda in the distance

 

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Oceans, Oregon, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

