Hiking Bald Mountain

I have been away from my computer for a while waiting for my new one. Now I am up and running with 16 GB of RAM. Hurray.

My friend Doris and I spent the week up near Mt Hood and one of the trails we decided to hike was supposed to give us an amazing view of Mt Hood. My book described it as an easy ramble for .2 miles and then another mile or so to the outlook.

First of all let me tell you that it was NOT .2 miles from the trail head NOR was it an easy ramble. It was more like 1.2 miles and a good stair-stepper hike. Tree branches provided the steps.

it was much steeper than this looks

the trail narrows and we are going to get wet

seeing green

a root growing into another tree

We stopped along the way to take photos of the valley and Sandy River below us. As I was taking the photos I could see my sky getting whiter and whiter. What was this? It was supposed to be sunny. We thought we better get a move on if we were going to get that epic view.

here comes the white

seeing the white

walking along the edge

trying to see the tree out there

our trail

at least we can still see the trees

Well we stopped some more in the woods because the light streaming through the trees was one we could not resist. So more photo taking meant by the time we got to the lookout we were in a foggy white out. I checked my iPhone and the weather forecast said it would burn off in an hour or two. We decided to pull up a rock and wait. At this point we wondered why we left our lunches in the car. We were also wondering why we wore jeans because the forest floor was damp and we were soaked from the lower thighs down to out ankles. At least our feet were dry and warm in our wool socks and hiking boots. We sat some more and enjoyed the white-out view. We got cold. We got hungry….at least I had some trail mix with us…and water. After about 30 minutes we gave up and decided to head back down.

on its own

thru the fog and trees

seeing a little light

worth the hike just for this

The hillside was covered in wild flowers so we stopped on our way down and took more photos.

more flowers

wild lilies

wild tiger lilies

Doris taking a photo

We had planned to stop at a picnic area for our lunch as I had packed a photo-op lunch set- up, but we were cold, the sun wasn’t out and so we headed back to the cabin for a cup of hot tea and a bite to eat.

lunch on my new tablecloth

It was a great hike, in spite of everything. We now know how quickly the weather does change up at the mountains and how people get in trouble. We were never at risk  but next time we won’t leave the food or the emergency blanket in the trunk. AND we won’t wear denim.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Oregon, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

