Walking along the Salmon River in Oregon

I just spent a week along the Salmon River in the Mt Hood National Forest. What a wonderful week it was. I went with my friend, Doris, and stayed at her family cabin just out of Welches. We had days of hiking, reading, sleeping and, ah, eating. Each day we went on a different walk/hike. Each afternoon we spent back at the cabin with me working on a quilt and Doris reading. It was all great fun and a very relaxing week.

eating at the cabin

I’ll start with our first day walk along the Old Salmon River Trail not far from the cabin. The trail is about a 5 mile round trip loop with only an elevation  gain of 178 feet. The web site says it should take 2 hours, but I think we took 4 because we kept stopping to take photos with our pinhole cameras. Some of our exposure times were more than 20 minutes. (film is being processed now and I will share those photos later). It is an easy well-maintained trail with campsites along the way. Sadly, there are posted warnings that the campsites may be closed because campers are not removing their garbage or their waste(human waste). Toilet paper dotted the trail and that is disgusting. What’s wrong with people? There are porta-potties available at several spots along the way.

one of my pinhole cameras and me

the path along the river

a place to hide?

mossy roots

If you don’t like looking at the water then there is a lot of varied flora and fauna to keep you captivated.

wild lilies

wild berries

wild foxglove

growing on the trees

ferns and trees

dripping off the trees

There are plenty of places to rest and views of pools of water and areas of white water rapids. You can picnic at some of the many sites that you’ll find along the river edge. the trail is well-maintained and worth the time to do it. parking is available at either end, but be sure to have a trail-head parking pass( $5.00 per day or $30 for an annual pass).

a rocky chair

many areas of white water

wet rocks

along the shore

In the days to come I will share more photos from my week along with some of the adventures.

fishing the Salmon River

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Oregon, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Walking along the Salmon River in Oregon

  1. simon0252 says:

    Beautiful location.

Leave a Reply

