4th of July celebrations

236 years of Independence

It’s time to celebrate our country’s independence. I don’l like getting political here, but the way our current administration is going I am wondering if we will be fighting for our independence in the not too distant future. It seems our freedom of choice is slowly being stripped away from us.  But let’s forget about all that and take time to enjoy the day.

getting their citizenship on July 26th and very proud to be Americans

I am fortunate to live in a neighborhood that gathers together for major events. We have our own Farmers Market, we gather for star-gazing and we celebrate the 4th. It starts off with a parade. Kids and adults walk the short route with decorated bikes and scooters.

nice

walking our streets

others watch from the sidelines

even the dogs dress up

wearing the colors

We then meet at our neighborhood park for a potluck meal. We all bring dished to share with local businesses supplying us with drinks and hot dogs. After the food the kids can have relay races.

the dads compete

their girls won two races

painted toes

 

I don’t live in a small town in middle America. I live on the west coast in a suburb of a large city. But even here, we bring small town life into our little neighborhood. I wonder how many of you do the same?

 

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Neighborhoods, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

