Lassen High School class of 67

First night at my reunion

Anne, me, Lenore

Had not seen Lenore and Anne in more than 10 years. You are never sure how it is going to go or what people will look like, but as  they drove up I would have known them from a mile away. They haven’t changed a bit. Yes, we are older and yes, we are heavier, but the smiles, the eyes, and the expressions are all the same. It’s like we were never apart. We just took up from where we last left off. I was so happy to see them.

We made our grand entrance about one hour after the start of Friday night’s festivities at the T&A cafe. It’s not T&A as you think. Actually I am not sure how it got its name but it has always been called that. Usually a rough crowd but tonight it was the class of 67 that took over the bar. We laughed because we three were in blue and so our entrance could not have gone unnoticed. It’s funny that we were a bit nervous about going in: would there be anyone there we knew, would we recognize anyone, what f they recognized us and we had no idea who they were? Well, it did happen…all three things. Many of our classmates who we ran  with in high school were there:

Some of the basketball team: Phil Dow, Doug Olehke, Spencer           Templeton and Gil Calac.

The cheerleaders: Toni Bottini, Deanna Bottini, Patti Vial (still call them all by maiden names)

I talked to Phil Dow for a long time. He is a Vietnam Vet with the 101st. Had a hard time there as did many.  Re-upped. Lost a lot of his platoon.  Now needing hearing aids because of the noise of battle. But he looks great. He’s happy. Lives in Ukiah.

Some people say they hate reunions and if they don’t see the people all the time why should they go? Because as you get older no one cares what car you drive or how much money you have. Everyone is just happy to see each other and happy to be alive. We’ve lost a few classmates, most recently one of my favorites, Matt Conway, but we all band together and talk about old times. We laugh and we remember. We tell stories about those departed. And we go on.

We stayed the whole evening, being some of the last to leave. We mingled and we needed help with names, but we were glad we went.

Tomorrow is the alumni picnic at 11:00. Followed by the old, I shouldn’t say old,  basketball team trying to do it again(that should be hilarious) and then the dinner/dance(who are they kidding) from 6 to midnight. More time to reconnect. More photos to take.

(ps: Patti, if you are reading this, please send me your email address so we can exchange photos)

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lassen High School class of 67

  1. Patti Moore says:

    It was great seeing you Gretchen. I agree that we all seemed to have a great time reminiscing and trying to remember classmates names. Sometimes that was a challenge. A little trivia, the “T & A” was named after my grandfather and Gino Surian’s dad or grandfather, i’m not sure, but their names were Tony and Al.
    Also did you realize the answers to the trivia questions on the placemats were at the bottom of the placemat? Who even looked.
    I will send you my email address. Have fun at Donner.

    • gretchen says:

      Thanks Patti. I should have known the history of the T&A. I did at one time, but we know how that goes. However, I didn’t know it was part of your family. Just getting to day 2 now.

  2. Sue says:

    What fun for you, Gretchen! I hope you enjoy the rest of the weekend.

Leave a Reply

