It’s never too early to start…..

skateboarding that is.

performing

3-year-old Miles adjusts the knee pads

I recently met two wonderful young skateboarders while visiting skateboard parks in the Portland Metro area. I started my search for parks about 10 days ago when the web-based magazine,  Lomography, asked me to write and photograph the skate board community in Portland. I kept hearing that the skate board park in  the St Johns area of the city was a favorite with many skaters. It’s located on the panhandle of Pier Park and I had only been in the forested section before. It’s no wonder, because until 10 days ago I had never visited the skating arenas. I have driven past them but never stopped. Now I want to keep looking for more.

Miles and Milo showing me their boards

inseparable brothers

When I drove up to Pier Park I didn’t think anyone was there, which has seemed to plague me often during this project because school is still in session in Oregon. But as I got closer I could see two heads pop up now and again. I walked over and asked the older boy, who I now know as Milo if he would mind if I took his photo. He didn’t. His brother Miles was also happy to pose and perform for me. Just to make double sure I got permission  from their Mom.

here comes Milo

up and out

coming out of the bowl

3 year old Miles getting ready to show me his stuff

getting ready to drop the bowl

Miles has no fear

And so, what I think started as a very casual and by chance meeting is going to turn into much more. Today I followed them to the Tigard Skate Park to take a few more photos before the rain returned. I also let them both take turns with my Lomography Spinner 360 camera as they skated. They had no trouble using the whole roll of film. Next time I’ll make sure I take more. I love to let  kids take their turn with the cameras. They can be very creative.

Milo at work

Miles takes his turn with the Spinner

Milo photographs himself skating

showing us the runs

I have since learned about upcoming competitions that the boys will take part and I plan to show up to watch them.

boards are highly decorated underneath

Miles and his beautiful board

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Photography, skateboarding and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

