Skateboarding in Portland

I never would have guessed that visiting skateboard parks could be so much fun. But first I must apologize for being gone this past week and a half. I’ve been slowly recovering from a knee injury and could not get out to make new photos. But I am finally out and about this week and I started with a new project.

I didn’t know that there are so many skateboard parks in the Portland Metro area. They are everywhere: from the East side to the West and out in the burbs. Some have animals and others have painted bowls. Most of them are tucked into other parks but a few stand on their own. Small ones and huge ones, easy and very difficult, there’s a park for all age groups and experience.

I’m just getting started with this project and I am shooting it all in film.

I’ve been surprised how friendly the skaters have been. They approach ME! They pose and they perform. They even answer all my insane questions. Most of this I am saving for the article I am writing for Lomography online magazine which will appear by the end of the month. Lomo photographers from all over the world are posting photos about skateboarding in their areas. It should be interesting.

I have a new appreciation for the sport and the people who do it. I have to say that if there was one main reason that all these skaters said  they skate it is because it keeps them off the streets. Bravo for that.

 

 

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in film and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

