keep walking

My walk up and down the hills of West Portland may not have been the thing to do. I did it with a torn meniscus of the right knee and I am now sidelined. I am not good about resting and sitting still, especially when the weather is dry and sunny, but rest I must. For the next few days I may only be able to take photos from near to my car. 😦

SW Vista gets very steep

steep steps dot the area

Rose Festival kicked off last night and I wasn’t able to go to the fireworks. Luckily the festivities are spread out over the next couple of weeks so I should be able to get out there and photograph. Today, however, I am going to give you more photos of my walk through the west hills. I traveled up and down Vista Drive with little side detours on the east side of the main road. When my knee lets me I will do the west side of the road.

found this cozy place down an alley

many of the apartments have nice garden courtyards

an ugly modern apartment building

seeing all the way through

The West Hills neighborhood of Portland sits above downtown with views of the city from little pockets along the sides streets. SW Vista is the main road that runs up and down the area. At the bottom of the hill is the Uptown Shopping center with NW 23rd just beyond. There are many restaurants and boutiques along NW 23rd. It’s an easy walk down, but be prepared for a steep ascent. Luckily you can stop along the bridge and rest at many benches built into the walls.

heading down hill

a glimpse of the Fremont bridge

a view of the city

shopping center at the bottom of SW Vista

fresh food from the local market

flowers for sale at the Uptown Market

One of my favorite restaurants, Vista Spring Cafe, sits near the top of the hill. They serve wonderful pizzas, sandwiches and  what I think is the best mac and cheese in town. If you decide to do this walk then do take time to visit the cafe. Next door is a consignment antique shop that is also worth a peak.

Vista Spring Cafe

the neighborhood has their own fire house

I should point out, which you can tell from many of the photos, that this is one of the more affluent neighborhoods. The day I was walking the houses were all a buzz with workmen who were both remodeling and working on the gardens. I don’t think many of these homeowners do any of their own work. I almost bought a house here many years ago, but my husband wouldn’t buy a house with a detached garage. Just as well, we would not have fit in to such a wealthy neighborhood. Maybe if I win the lottery….

street entrance

a beautiful door

gothic windows on the Bishop’s house

an historical landmark

a beautiful setting

almost bought this house in 1986

I’ve always loved these little houses

Enjoy the photos and another look into one more of Portland’s neighborhoods.

there are few garages

lots of brick

I didn’t think people still owned these guys

I will leave you with this: a sad house about to fall off the hill.

some houses are uninhabitable

All photos were taken with my old Canon 7ne with Kodak Gold 200 or Kodak Portra 160.
About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Neighborhoods, Photography, Portland and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

