Taking photos of food

Yesterday I spent several hours with the Portland-Vancouver Photography Meet-up group at Applewood Restaurant in Vancouver, Washington. The owner and chefs were so nice to allow us to use one of their rooms to set up vignettes of food with studio lights and all our bags of gear. It wasn’t dinner time yet so the restaurant wasn’t full and we were able to wander around taking photos throughout the restaurant.

 

It was difficult to take photos because there were 14 of us with only 3 stations set up. Luckily I had my 100mm macro lens with me so I didn’t have to get in too close.

I haven’t worked with lights that much so I enjoyed using these along with the light boxes and diffusers.

The best part was that after we photographed the food we got to eat it. It was delicious. I am not a big lover of sauces so I chose a bit of salmon with no sauce on it. It was moist and melted in my mouth. I think that was a good test.

If you are interested in eating there, here’s the address: Applewood Restaurant, 2005 SE 192nd, #100, Vancouver. I plan to go back JUST to eat.

 

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taking photos of food

  1. Sue says:

    Incredible photos! The wine glass, the with reflection of the plate, is amazing! I also thought the picture of the camera was a creative way of photographing the food! What a fun way to spend the afternoon!

Leave a Reply

