I’ve been off the grid lately

I have neglected my blog lately due to computer problems. I have never  had many problems with Mac computers since switching about 12 years ago, but this last update to Lion has really messed with my computer. Some operations I can no longer do. I’m missing photos…my complete catalog of Lightroom photos is gone….as is the LR4 software. I can get my old LR 3 but then it doesn’t contain the hundreds of photos that are in LR4, including many scans of film. Where is my LR 4 catalog????

The whole thing has me in a tizzy.

computer trouble best captured with a pinhole camera

Today I went to the Apple store, computer in hand. They said there is nothing wrong with the computer. Really? It’s the new operating system. Then they showed me how to update my iPhone to iCloud. Oh great one more new thing. So I get home, plug the iPhone into my computer and I get this lovely message: “you need to restore your iPod”. Do you know what that means? You lose all your data and it sets your phone back to the factory settings. I didn’t want to do that, BUT…..it won’t let me do anything until I restore.

So I thought, okay, I’ll restore and then re-install all my Apps. Restored. Plug in to my lap top, where I have my Apps stored, and…..no dice. My laptop can’t be updated anymore so now I can’t even get my Apps off the lap top and back onto my iPhone.

Luckily all my data and photos have been routinely backed up to external hard drives, but it’s going to take days to import everything back in. UGH

I could scream. I’m going to bed. Tomorrow is another day. So sorry I have been AWOL. I’ll be back….soon…I hope.

Luckily all my data and photos have been routinely backed up to external hard drives, but it’s going to take days to import everything back in. UGH

PS: Tonight at my digital printing class the paper kept jamming in the printer and the instructor was ready to tear out his hair. At least I have company in gadget frustration.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, film, pinhole and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

