Return to Voodoo

The last time I wrote about VooDoo Doughnuts in Portland I had not tasted one. The lines into the shop can sometimes stretch around the corner and I seem to be in too much of a hurry to stand and wait. Then there is the list, the long list, of flavors, fillings and frostings which all seem too intimidating to me. I’m kind of a plain cake or lightly glazed donut lady. It was time to branch out.

VooDoo for you

I should have stood in line over there

So last week I was downtown again working on an article about Portland for the online magazine Lomography when I noticed the line was not horribly long. It was time to plunge in and try one of these creations I have only read about.

waiting in the long line but it moves quickly

finally making it into the shop

friendly faces in a sea of chaos

The lined moved more quickly than I thought. Five minutes is all it took and in that time I kept trying to decide which one I should try. For photography’s sake I decided I should buy the namesake, the VooDoo doll. It is a raised donut covered in chocolate frosting with a raspberry jam center and a pretzel protruding from its heart. Ron went with the classic and most people’s favorite, a maple bar with bacon on top. It sounds awful to me but he said it was a bit like pancakes, maple syrup and a side of bacon….hmmmm, not so bad.

VooDoo doll and maple with bacon

my VooDoo doll bleeds raspberry jam

We asked for the famous pink box so we could have a souvenir and set out for a table along the side of the building where wooden picnic tables are shared with the brewery next door and the coffee shop across the street. The two women who had been in front of us in line were now at the table next to us. One woman was from southern California and the other was local. They loved the connection between the two areas that made up part of the making of the VooDoo Donut empire. They each bought two donuts but elected to eat their maple and bacon connection first.

the famous pink VooDoo box

the coffee shop across from VooDoo Donuts

California and Oregon together over donuts

Then they were done and another group of guys took up that table. They devoured their donuts and then were interested in Ron’s Horizont camera. Turns out they were in the process of creating an iPhone photo app and it was almost done. We got a preview.

the Horizont camera with maple and bacon

showing us their new App

Okay, so I have to admit that the donut was yummy. I did scrape off some of the frosting but I ate the whole thing….the whole thing. No more food for me that day and my promise to stop eating sugar was, once again, sabotaged by a little voodoo.

All photos were taken with film with either the Canon Elan 7ne or the 1969 Russian Horizont panorama camera

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in cameras, Daily Life, film, Food, Photography, Portland and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

