Alternative printing processes

After I returned home from England I wanted to learn alternative printing processes. This desire was enforced by my visit to Lacock Abbey, the home of Henry Fox Talbot. Talbot is given credit for inventing the first paper negative and also for a finding a way to preserve the print. His process was called salt-paper processing.

Baskerville Hall_salt paper

Baskerville Hall_platinum print

While at Lacock Abbey I used my Hasselbald and positioned myself in the same spots where Talbot took his famous photos. I used black and white film. I stood in the very window where he made his discovery. So, of course, I wanted to make prints the same way he did. Lucky for me, Newspace Center for Photography in Portland was offering a class in the salt-paper process just a few weeks after I got home.

the famous window at Lacock Abbey_salt paper

the window that started it all_platinum print

Taking this class resulted in me becoming interested in other printing processes. So next I decided to try platinum printing. The pros of platinum printing are that the process results in a wonderful tonal range of warm black, to reddish-brown and deep mid-tone grays. The prints are also the most durable of all prints and highly collectible.

Lacock Abbey gate_salt paper

Lacock gate_ platinum print

So I made digital negatives from my 2 1/2 by 2 1/2 negatives. The prints are the same size as the negatives so you want to be sure to make your negatives the size you want as your finished piece. You can see the difference in the tonal range between the salt paper and platinum. I like both.

Lacock, salt paper print

home of Henry Fox Talbot_platinum print

Now I have managed to pick up a Polaroid One Shot for $5.00. Got hold of some Impossible Project film and I am ready for my next adventure.

Abbey interior_platinum print

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in England 2011, film, Hasselblad, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Alternative printing processes

  1. simon0252 says:

    These are a beautiful set of prints Gretchen. I really like all of them; the detail, the wonderful tones and the accomplished printing. A lot of work has gone into these and I’m so pleased you posted them. Inspiring.

Leave a Reply

