Lemon Curd cake

or I think I’ll rename it The All Day Lemon Curd Cake because it took most of the day to make. I found the recipe in Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook. It’s a great book with wonderful photos and very detailed instructions. It also enlightens with some basic general baking information.

MS baking book

cake and regular flour sifted together

lots of lemons, zest and juice

I thought Paula Deene was bad about using butter, but this cake recipe including the lemon curd and the lemon buttercream frosting takes about 7, yes 7, sticks of butter. Add that to the 24 eggs it consumes and you have to wonder what the calorie count must be. Let’s not even talk about all that fat and your arteries. Luckily this cake is going to my husband’s office and not in my belly. I asked him to save me a bite, but what I can tell from sampling it as I went along, this cake is just plain yummy.

this doesn't include the butter for the frosting

pile on the butter

thick and creamy cake batter

I just had no idea how long it would take to make. I’m glad I did this trial run because I know that if I make it again that I will make the lemon curd the day before because it has to cool before you spread it between 3 layers of the cake.

golden out of the oven

curd after it was strained

eggs whites, sugar and lemon + 3 sticks of butter

I’m not going to give you the recipe here because it is long and involved, not difficult, just lengthy. If you want to look it up, it is Martha Stewart’s Lemon Curd Cake, with Lemon Swiss Meringue Buttercream. I’m sure you can find it online.

how it is supposed to look when finished

I took photos as I was making it and then you know what? I forgot to take the final photo before I put the cover over it and put it in the fridge. I would have taken it back out but my Tupperware cake cover was a bit too small and kind of side-swiped one part of the cake. I’ll let my husband open it at work and he can smooth the frosting…..hee hee. I just didn’t want to take  a chance of sliding the cover off at home. The recipe suggests putting it under a glass cake dome which is what I would do if it wasn’t traveling to his office. I even went out today and bought a special clear glass plate and dome at Crate and Barrel. This cake gets  more and more expensive.

Crate and Barrel glass cake dome

If the cake gets good reviews tomorrow then I will make it again. I think making it for a Spring or Summer birthday would be wonderful. You could have one tiny slice and since lots of people would be eating it you would not have to feel so guilty. I’ll satisfy myself with one bite tomorrow……if he remember to bring it home.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in An idea of home, Daily Life, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

