Portland’s Sakura cherry trees

Nothing says the beginning of Spring more than the Sakura cherry trees along the waterfront in Portland. They border the walkway along the Willamette River and the Japanese-American Memorial.

Every Spring hundreds of people flock to the trees to watch the buds emerge, the flowers bloom and then the petals gently float to the earth. The show doesn’t last long, a period of two to three weeks. This year we’ve had rain almost every day so the trip to earth will happen sooner and quicker than most years.

I try to make it to the trees several times before the show is over. I take different cameras with me for different looks. I’ll use my dslr for crisper photos, my Holga for that light leak and soft look, my Hasselblad for good exposures and a nice focus and the pinhole for deep depth of field and a long exposure. The photo with the sun stripe is from an old Horizont pano camera.

I’m not finished taking photos, but this week will probably be the last until next year. I have more film being processed and tomorrow I am going to visit the trees again. To end the display I have a pinhole meet-up scheduled for next weekend and then the show will be over.

I thought that today I’d share some photos from several of my cameras. This post is just pink fluff.  If you are in the Portland area I hope you get downtown this week to see the trees at least one time before the leaves take over and the pink is no more.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in cameras, film, Hasselblad, Holga, lomograohy, Photography, pinhole, Portland and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

