Portland’s Saturday Market with my Canon Elan ne

Saturday’s sunshine brought Portlanders out from hibernation. Many people could be found along the waterfront which borders the Willamette River, dividing Portland from West and East sides. People were out to shop and browse the Saturday Market which opened its 36th year of operation and people couldn’t seem to be happier. The market is the largest continually operating outdoor arts and craft market in the country.

You’ll find stalls of crafts handmade with heart. I am sure that some of the vendors were here when the Market opened in the mid-70’s. They are surely selling the same type of merchandise today. Lucky for them, what was in fashion 40 years ago is back again.

You’ll find food stalls throughout the market. The line for the Elephant Ears was long. Always a favorite, this doughy mix with cinnamon and sugar on the top is yummy. I shared.

There are street performers too. Good and bad. Cirque du Soleil is in town and I wonder if these performers were part of the cast and taking advantage of the open space to practice. They drew quite a crowd.

There were couples getting their photo taken.

And others just enjoying the day.

I was wandering around with my 35mm film camera, the Canon ne. It has this uncanny feature that follows your eye and focuses on what you are looking at. If your eye moves then so does the focus point. It takes awhile to get used to and I used manual focus most of the time because I think I have a wandering eye.

But this fella had his eyes firmly fixed on his subject.

The sun didn’t last long. We are back in to rain. UGH

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in film, Photography, Portland, street photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

