my new Holga 120 PAN

I just put my first roll of film through my new Holga panoramic camera, the Holga 120 PAN. I love it. I have to be honest, I really didn’t expect to like it so much. I was very happy with my results.

I was a bit concerned at first because I forgot to tape up the cameram before I used it. So I thought sure I would have major light leaks, but I didn’t. I don’t mind the dark corners the Holga gives me, but I don’t like major leaks that run across the middle of my photos. I had none.

The camera has not been on the market very long. Before its introduction the only Holga panoramic was the Holga WPC (pinhole). I am a huge fan of pinhole photography, but I prefer to use my Zero Image 2000 for that work. So I am glad Holga decided to introduce this panoramic camera for under $100.

It has a true 90 mm optical lens and a panoramic view finder which really helps to compose the photo. There is also a bubble level and two hot shoes for attaching two flashes. By mounting two flashes on this camera you’ll get an even wash of light across the scene. You can also order an adaptor kit that can turn the camera into a 35mm film camera, but why would you want to? I prefer the 120 film with the huge negative, 2 3/4″ x 4 1/4″ . It means you can print a very large photo with no loss in quality.

;

Like most of the Holgas, this one comes with the ‘N’ exposure and ‘B’ exposure settings. One for normal exposures of 1/100 and the other for making long exposures in low light.

I think this new Holga will find a permanent spot in my camera bag and that’s saying a lot because I am a huge fan of the square format. I’ll just need a bigger bag. A girl can never have too many bags……or is that shoes? When you are a photographer it’s the bag that counts.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in film, Holga, lomograohy, Photography, Portland and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

