In search of yellow

I’ve been spending a lot of time looking up in to the skies above Portland in search of that yellow sphere that should be warming our minds and bodies at this time of year, but it has been as elusive as a winning lottery ticket.

a yellow sphere but not the sun

On our last sunny day, about 10 days ago, I managed a walk around the Laurelhurst neighborhood. I thought I’d go in search of something yellow so that when the gray days get me down I can look at my photos and feel that Spring and sunshine may appear at any moment. Just seeing the yellow on my computer screen makes me feel better. The first yellow of the day I stumbled upon was the yellow from the Franz Bakery. I think at first I was drawn to the scent of the baking bread. That alone warms the soul. But time to move on to my destination before I stop and gorge on that soft white dough……oh the calories!

the yellow of the Franz Bakery trucks

Last time I went out walking neighborhoods I was in Ladd’s Addition in SE Portland. So it seemed only logical for me to photograph the Laurelhurst neighborhood  because the 462 acres were once owned by Ladd himself until he sold them to the Laurelhurst Company in 1909. Like Ladd’s Addition, Laurelhurst is chock  full of well-kept vintage homes. You won’t find any apartments or flats. You will find a lovely park containing a lake full of ducks, meandering streets, and lovely gardens with big old stately shade trees.

So come stroll with me and enjoy these beautiful yellow homes. I hope they bring you some cheer.

Tomorrow, even though the forecast says more rain mixed with snow, I am heading downtown to see if the cherry trees are blooming. I want to catch the blossoms before they plummet to the ground and freeze. I also want to try out my Holga panoramic camera. More on that later.

For now, just please, oh please, bring me the sun  or some yellow flowers.

a blur of yellow

(All photos were taken on Kodak Portra 400 with a 1976 Hasselbald 500 C/M)

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in An idea of home, Hasselblad, Photography, Portland and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

