making brownies on a cold winter’s day

I made brownies today. I like mine on the cakey side and this recipe was delicious. I got it from an old Betty Crocker Cookbook, the same old cookbook where I get my sugar cookies that I make for every major holiday.  Since I am house-bound with dog sitting this week I have the baking bug. So here goes:

Yummy chocolate brownies

  • 2/3 cup butter
  • 5 oz unsweetened baking chocolate
  • 1 3/4 cup fine sugar ( I like the fine sugar because it bakes without leaving a grainy texture)
  • 2 t. vanilla
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  1. Heat the oven to 350′. Grease the bottom and sides of a 9-inch square pan with shortening. In a saucepan, melt the butter and the chocolate over low heat, stirring constantly. Take off the stove and let cool while preparing the other ingredients.
  2. In a medium bowl, beat the sugar, vanilla and eggs with electric mixer on high-speed for 5 minutes(very important). beat in the chocolate on low-speed. Beat in the flour until blended. Stir in the walnuts. Spread in the pan.
  3. Bake 40 -45 minutes or until brownies start to pull from the sides. Cool on a wire rack for 2 hours(are you kidding?) You may frost with a Chocolate Buttercream Frosting, but I choose to have mine plain, warm and with a glass of milk.

    it takes 3 large eggs to be this yellow

     

    be sure to beat for the full 5 minutes

     

    adding the chocolate and butter

mix on low

 

blending the chocolate with the egg and sugar

 

dripping off the beaters

 

chop one cup of walnuts

 

ready to eat

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in An idea of home, Daily Life, Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

