dog sitting

My husband and I are spending the week taking care of two Old English Sheepdogs while their owners are in Hawaii. My husband even took a week’s vacation to do this. It’s a good thing because I am not sure I could walk them both at the same time and one won’t leave the house without the other.

Ron and the girls

There are several distinctive traits that pertain to sheepdogs: big black tinker noses, large pink tongues, floppy ears, no tail, a bum that is higher than the shoulders, eternal cuteness and lots of fluff. You can’t help but want to hold them and feel how soft they are.

big nose and tongue

 

butt to butt in the car

Sophia, the mom, is four years old and a champion. She has had two litters of pups, 5 and 10 pups, and we have Belle her daughter with us now. Belle is just barely a year old and full of activity.

Belle loves to run in the park

 

here comes Sophia, the Mom

There is little sleep going on in our house. Belle comes in to the bedroom every two hours to make sure we are still there. This usually includes a lick to the face, ours not hers, and so no one can sleep through that. we could crate her, but I don’t have the heart. We’ll sleep next week when they go back home.

Mother and daughter

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in An idea of home, Daily Life, Old English sheepdogs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

