Exploring more neighborhoods with a group

I went out with the Portland-Vancouver Photography Meet-up Group last Saturday. The group chose to explore the lower part of The Pearl district in Portland. I had already been walking those streets a few days earlier when the sun was out and the sky was blue. Saturday was met with gray overcast skies and flat light. I felt we should have met earlier but the group chose 10:00. By the time we all got there and some got their coffees the light was even worse. But we pressed on.

picking up coffee at Jamison Square

coffee or wine?

few public toilets in the Pearl

I chose to carry only my Hasselblad and my Holga. I was, once again, the only one using film. As others clicked away at anything that moved…..or didn’t, I walked and walked looking for something to catch my eye.

these are not needed when the sky is gray

benches along Jamison Square

public transport rails

I have to admit I was not inspired on this day. It happens sometimes. So I spent more time getting to know people in the group, talking to them about my choice to shoot film, and pointing out some objects I found photo worthy. Some of those showed up on the group’s web site. I did run into some friends, Joanna and her sheepdog Fiona. Fiona made for a great subject for the group and she sat perfectly while members clicked away.

met up with Fiona, the sheepdog

a little sidewalk football

The Pearl's high rises

I did manage to take 12 photos over a 3-hour period, but none of them really excited me. At the end of the day I realized I am a lone shooter. When I am with a group I take very few photos. I think I am a very private person and maybe I don’t like having to explain “why” I choose to make a photo of a certain thing. I’m not sure. So today I am heading south to the town of Salem. I have a meeting with another group, British Travel Fans, but I will be out taking photos on my own…..and with film.

The Fremont Bridge

some color on a gray day

me at Trader Vics

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, film, Hasselblad, Holga, Neighborhoods, Portland and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Exploring more neighborhoods with a group

  1. Sue Breuner says:

    I can’t believe you only took 12 photos… The ones you took were impressive! Great prospective!

Leave a Reply

