My Holga, NW Portland and me

We have been experiencing some beautiful weather here in Portland, Oregon. You’d think it was Spring although it could change its mood like the prevailing winds. Yes, it’s windy, but that didn’t stop me from going out on several days this past week to take pictures with my Holga…..and my Hasselblad, and my Sprocket Rocket. However, today I am sharing some photos from my Holga.

reading on the grass

 

enjoying the sunshine

open park near NW 9th

I managed to find a parking spot that had no time limits and no meter. The day was looking good. The sky was blue and my bag was full of film and my favorite cameras. My favorite’s list is getting longer and longer, but today I reserved that list to just three. Plus I couldn’t carry any more.

NW 11th, a fountain and a park

 

cinema on NW 21st

NOT the Blue Moon of camera store fame

 

everyone is having a sale these days

I kept my circle of photography to NW Portland between NW 23rd and about 10th. On a later day in the week I walked a bit further down to the waterfront. The sun was so bright that I skipped taking photos along the river but instead concentrated on buildings, signs and people enjoying the sun.

an old standby on NW Glisan

 

enjoying a beer in the sun

Portland has some nice architecture, not as ornate as what I see in England, but still interesting for a city that has only been in business since 1851. We are a young city and have undergone many urban renewal programs which unfortunately wiped out many wonderful old houses. One of those ateas is The Pearl District which is known for its high-rise condos and trendy shops and restaurants. Further up, around NW 20th is where you’ll find the old architecture.

a beautifully kept building

 

another oldie

 

one of the old buildings that survived the wrecking ball

Come walk with me.

one of many new condo buildings

 

I'd love one of those corner apartments

 

me and my Holga

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, film, Holga, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

