On my morning walk

I enjoy reading other blogs when the author walks around their own neighborhood showing me photos of the places they see on their daily walks. Sometime I envy their urban settings, the grittiness they offer. (check out http://www.sandrajuto.blogspot.com) I, on the other hand, live outside the city and my morning walk consists of open skies, trees and wildlife.

swirling clouds

 

the start of my walk

I step out my front door to be greeted by wonderful sunrises over Mt Hood. I walk across the street and I enter the world of the countryside. Sometimes I am greeted by deer, bunnies and flocks of geese. I’ve also been lucky enough to see bald eagles perched on leafless trees.

winter trees

 

 

keeping me connected

If I want the urban landscape I can hop in my car and head to central Portland. That’s what I plan to do today. It’s First Thursday and the galleries will have new shows starting today. Tonight the employees of Blue Moon Camera will be showing their Holga images at Powells Books. I’ll be there.

path through moss and ferns

 

what's that fog out there? Or has some animal kicked up dust?

flooding paths reflect the sky and trees

I guess it doesn’t matter where we live. It’s only important that we get out and enjoy each and every day.

pathway back to home

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in An idea of home, Daily Life, Mornings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

