London with my Holga

What was it that Samuel Johnson said? “When a man is tired of London, he is tired of life, for there is in London all that life can afford”. Famous words from the man who wrote the “Dictionary of the English Language” in 1755.

Piccadilly Circus

 

the wheel from across the Thames

Maybe because I am looking out my window and the rain is falling that I am thinking of London. Although while I was there in September and October the sun was shining and it was dry. However, when most think of London they think of wet and foggy. Not so. When under a bright blue sky it is an amazing city. History around every corner, millions of people on the streets, little villages within the big city, museums, gardens….so many things to keep you entertained.

a Holgarama of Buckingham Palace

 

shops in a SE London neighborhood

I’ve visited 24 times in the past 13 years and I can’t wait to go back. I was hooked as soon as I climbed my first bell tower in a church that is 800 years old. I’m not returning in 2012 because the Olympics is taking over the city. Prices will rise. Security will be a nightmare. I’ll wait and return in 2013. I’m going through withdrawal already.

coronations, weddings and funerals of the royals

The Abbey

 

I like to blend in when I walk around London and so slipped my Holga film camera in my bag instead of my big dslr. I’m never exactly sure what photos I’ll capture until I get my film back from the lab. Sometimes the light leaks are so bad that I don’t like the results, but more often I am happy with the dark corners and grainy look the Holga gives me.

mellow yellow on Carnaby Street

 

painted buildings on Carnaby Street

These are just some random shots while I was walking around the city.

the modern red bus

you can still find the red phone box

London is calling me back.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in England 2011, film, Holga, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

