Capitol Hill with my Holga

Last week I headed to Seattle to pick up my English friend Elliott who, as you saw in another post, was here to try out for the Portland Timbers. While waiting for his flight to come in I went walking around the Capitol Hill neighborhood of Seattle. I’ve never been there before, but had seen photos of the area from some Flickr members and so had it on my “to visit” list.

watching the time for heading to the airport

I love parking my car and getting out and walking neighborhoods looking for old signs of what was once there. Capitol Hill is full of them. I got the impression that this is a trendy neighborhood, just off I-5 and close to downtown Seattle. It’s a mix of huge expensive homes and tall apartment buildings. The average age must be well  below 50 and the per-capita income above the national average.

Julias

Good eateries, book stores, pubs and boutiques dot the main street, Broadway. I was intrigued by the dance step maps along the route. You could spend the afternoon learning the waltz, rumba or tango. I’d love to know when these were put in and why? Maybe there was a dance studio here at some point or maybe just because it’s Broadway.

you can learn to dance on Broadway

 

Isn't Hollywood Video out of business?

I also find that the demise of old businesses to be quite sad, especially the local movie theaters. It’s nice to have the new movie complexes with their state-of-the-art sound systems, but the inside architecture of the old theaters can’t be beat. I wish they all could be restored to their former selves.

I was once a drive-in theater

 

I was a movie theater in my old life

I used my Holga camera on this day and only had it loaded with 400 speed film so I wasn’t able to take photos in to the night like I would have liked to do. Guess I have to go back….with more film…..Kodak, please keep making film.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Holga, Neighborhoods, Travel, Washington and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

