signs

At the top of my favorite photo ops, sharing space with abandoned gas stations, drive-thru coffee huts, and old motels, are signs.  I like restaurant signs, store signs, motel signs, graffiti that says something…on and on. There are so many types.

When I am out driving or even walking around in a town I make sure I pay attention to what’s above my head or maybe down at my feet. Signage is everywhere. A sign might mark a spot, tell us not to do something, invite us in or sadly, tell us a business is failing.

Baker City, Oregon

 

McMinnville, Oregon

Signs like so many of our abandoned buildings document what is happening in the places we live. Some are funny, some are dead serious. Some advertise old businesses and some the opening of new ones.

clothing down sale in Catford, London

 

Silverton, Oregon

I like it when people rescue old signs and then display them on their property.

near Dayton, Oregon

Have a look around when you travel. Have a look around near your home. It doesn’t matter if the signs are permanent or temporary. They all have something to say. Do you have some interesting signs near your home? I’d love to see some.

Baker City, Oregon

 

Carson, Washington

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in American Roadside, Daily Life, film, from my car, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

