Polaroids

I bought a Polaroid back for my Hasselblad camera. I’ve been waiting for just the right light in my house to make my first photo. I haven’t taken a Polaroid since the early 70’s and I was just a little bit intimidated to starting on this new adventure with film.

And, as I feared, I screwed it up. Why? because I forgot the ISO was 100. I have used so much 400 speed film lately that I metered for 400. boo. I wanted this first photo to be a slice of daily life: making pumpkin cookies. After I made the cookies I set them up on a little Wedgwood plate in front of one of my kitchen windows with some nice indirect light filtered through the shade.

Film loaded. Camera on tripod. Light adjusted. Click. Pull the tab. Wait for 2 minutes. Separate the film from the negative. Too dark. What? Darn, I shot it at ISO 100. Disappointment.

my first polaroid

Scanned. More disappointment. So much dust landed on the photo while it was drying. I have a whole-house electronic air filter, but I still have so much dust flying through the air. Resolution: solve this problem.

Next: Going to try more. I have a project in mind that involves taking Polaroids of my old cameras and then doing a lift and transfer of the photo onto other paper. I’ve watched the process at the Impossible Project web site. I have the kit. I’m ready to try again.

All was not lost. The cookies were a hit. Here’s the recipe:

2-1/2 cups of all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1-1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
1-1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
3/4 teaspoon grated nutmeg
3/4 cup unsalted butter at room temp
2-1/4 cups packed light-brown sugar
2 large eggs
1-1/2 cups solid pack pumpkin
3/4 cups evaporated milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Preheat oven to 375’F. Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg in a large bowl.
Put butter and brown sugar in bowl of electric mixer and beat on medium speed for about 3 minutes. Mix in eggs. reduce speed to low and add pumpkin, evaporated milk and vanilla. mix well. Add flour mixture until all are combined.
Then I used a tablespoon to drop batter onto a parchment lined cookie sheet. The rounds should be about 1-1/2 inches in diameter. Space about 1 inch apart. Bake cookies, rotating the sheets halfway through or until tops spring back, about 12 minutes. Cool on sheets for 5 minutes before moving to a wire rack to cool.
The original recipe calls for an icing on the top, but not being a fan of frosting I left it off. The cookies are soft and chewy with almost a cake-like texture. They are delicious.

 


					
About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in An idea of home, Daily Life, film, Food, Hasselblad, Polaroid and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

