Busy days ahead, but………

this morning I took time for a walk through our nature park to take pictures of the fog and frost. The gray morning, which didn’t lift all day, lent itself to black and white. I took photos with both my digital Canon and my film Hasselblad. Today I am posting the digital files as the film will go in for processing tomorrow. I really must learn to develop my own negatives. Oh, that sounds like a new year’s resolution.

trodden path through the brush

 

frosty and slippery bridge

I went out early this morning while it was still dark. I was hoping for a reddish sunrise with the fog, but the fog was rolling in so fast that when the sun tried to make an appearance it was blocked within seconds. I planted myself under the big oak tree that sits on a little rise. I changed between film and digital at 800ISO.  Focusing was not very easy because I couldn’t see due to the darkness. Now I can set my Hasselblad on infinity and the photos will be in focus, but if I set my 5DmarkII on infinity the photos are not in focus. I have to back it off just a tiny bit. This doesn’t seem right to me, but I am used to it now. I’ve heard other owners of this camera have the same problem.

the fog begins to show itself

the park's namesake

dew as frost melts on the grasses

As the light of day began to show itself the birds started singing. I could see them at the very tops of the trees greeting the morning and telling everyone to ‘rise and shine’. I only had my 50mm lens with me so the birds look like little dots at the tops of the trees, but as I walked away I noticed more were joining the flock. Must have been their Friday morning sing-along. Lovely way to start my day.

fog, trees and hundreds of birds

 

shelter sculpture

I have a lot going on in the week ahead. It starts with picking up a friend flying in from London. Hopefully in about 10 days I will have great news to report. In the meantime I am going to try to post some photos of the journey to January 14th. Wait and see…

frost on the wall

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Mornings, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

