Wandering over backroads

Since I returned from England in late October I have been  staying close to home. Depending on my mood and the weather I enjoy hopping in my car and setting off for destinations unknown and places not visited before.

winter tree

I’m using more film in my photography and so it take me a little longer to get my photos developed and scanned before I get them downloaded  here. Sometimes the lab can turn my photos around in a day and other times it may take a week. These photos and  road trip are from this past Sunday, New Years Day. The weather was dry and the temperatures mild. My husband and I decided it was time for a little road trip. But where? Wherever our car wants to go, without getting stuck in snow like last year.

need water?

We headed out SW from our home to the hills around Yamhill. I’ve been to the town of Yamhill, but we were able to find roads we had not traveled before. Sometimes we end up at dead ends and other times we find ourselves on gravel and mud covered roads. We don’t care. Our little 4 wheel drive takes us most places without incident. We learned our lessons from our little trip to Panther Creek last winter(posted here last winter).

plastic yard animals decorate this property

Two words of caution about driving in the country: No Trespassing. I have to take most of my photos by standing on the outside of fences and gates. I’d love to get closer, but warnings from barking dogs keep me safely on the side of the law. I can’t always achieve the best angle, but I think we all have to respect private property. I’ve never been chased away, but if a property owner asked me to stop taking photos I would.

old wood in Oregon

I  have more photos to share that are on a roll in my 360 Spinner. I also have another LomoKino movie I made driving down the dirt roads through forests and farms. I’ll post those another day. The photos you see here are from my Holga and Hasselblad. I think I am in love with the square format. They remind me of photos from the 50’s.

he changes with the seasons

I know some of us feel that we have to travel far to find photo ops, but if you just step out your front door and drive just a few miles from your home you may be surprised at what you’ll find. Through winter I will continue to travel close to home making photos of landscapes and roadside attractions. In Spring, when roads over the mountains are more easily traveled I will head out further from home. I’m in the planning stages now for my next adventure which will have a nostalgic bent. I can’t wait.

found several old trucks

Do you have places close to home that you return to over and over and still discover new things you haven’t noticed before? or are you ready to try the roads less-traveled?

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in film, Oregon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wandering over backroads

  1. Sue Breuner says:

    Looks like you had a fun day…

Leave a Reply

