Gas prices rise again

The start of 2012 saw a rise at the gas pumps once again. It won’t put an end to my road trips. At least not yet. I hunt out these old gas stations when I am out driving around. Sometimes they are found on major roadways and others I find by taking side streets through neighborhoods.

old pumps in front of a home in Wilsonville, Oregon

Dayton, Oregon

There was a time when the independent stations could make a living, but when tanks had to be buried some people could not afford the cost and so they were forced to close.

Astoria, Oregon

along the Columbia River hwy, Oregon

Others were forced out by the big oil companies.

Grand Island, Oregon

Huntington, Oregon

My favorite stations are the ones that have found life as something else.

Silverton, Oregon

I will continue to document the American Roadside for as long as I can find gas and can afford to fill up my car. I am trying to document these roadside attractions while they are still standing. This year I will record them all on film with my Holga or Hasselblad. I hope you will come along for the ride.

Wilsonville, Oregon

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in American Roadside, Daily Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

