Lomo Kino movie update

I made a new movie with my Lomo Kino 35mm film camera. I’m still not ready to pay for the video upgrade to show the movie here, but if you’ll go over to my Flickr page you can view it along with music.

When making this movie I used transparency film because I thought I would view it in the Lomo viewer and so transparency film would make sense. However, then I can’t share the movie on the web. To scan it I had to cut the strips into shorter ones to fit in the scanning mask. So deciding how you want to share your movie is important because once you have cut it then you can’t put it back in to the viewer. Oh well.

After I scanned each strip I imported them into Photoshop and adjusted the color balance. Click on ‘image’, then ‘adjustments’ and then ‘color balance’. I adjusted each channel individually. Then I exported the strips into Lightroom where I made more adjustments for exposure, levels and curves. Complicated? Not yet.

section of strip before photoshop

 

same strip after photoshop

The most difficult part is cropping each and every frame. That means 7 strips with 22 frames on each one. This took hours. Thank goodness it was a rainy day and a ‘Burn Notice’ marathon on TV. So what else would I want to do? I need to figure out how I can crop one frame, save the crop and then click on each frame and have it crop automatically. I thought I might be able to save the crop as a preset, but I can’t see how. If any of you have made a film with this camera and can offer me some pointers I would appreciate it.

part of a strip before color corrected

 

one frame cropped and color corrected

After all frames were cropped and numbered I exported to a folder on my desktop. From there they went into iPhoto. And from there I opened iMovie and began a ‘new project’ and dragged the photos into the project window. Next it was a matter of clicking on ‘media’ and choosing a song I liked to go along with the film.

I hope you will take the time to watch the full clip in my Flickr site. It’s only 32 seconds of something that took me a good part of the day to put together. I love this lo-fi film stuff, but sometimes I wonder why I do it. I could have used my iPhone and made a video of the train in a split second, or 32 seconds. But then it wouldn’t be quirky.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in film, lomograohy, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

