Art or graffiti?

While traveling in England this fall I saw a lot of street art and graffiti. now I wish I had taken more photos of it, but it is everywhere and you could easily fill multiple 8 GB cards with the stuff. I had heard about Banksy before I left home and when I found out he had been  based in Bristol, and I was going to be there for a week, I searched out some of his work. Seeing some of his work got me more interested in the genre. Is it graffiti or street art?

Banksy in Bristol

sometimes there's a message

free hand

Now that I am home again, in Portland, Oregon, I have become more aware of this type of street art. Some of it is done free-hand and other people use stencils. I have also realized that Portland doesn’t have as much of it as London or Bristol. Our city gets it covered over pretty quickly in an attempt to keep the city clean and beautiful. I can also understand this. I’m not sure who in Portland decides what gets painted over and what stays, but I guess if they let it all stay then our city would be covered in ‘tagging’ and not in art.

a study in geometry?

decorating the inside of buildings

who is this supposed to be?

What is your take on it?

oh good, I was getting hungry

on the Linfield campus

found in Camden Town, London

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in street photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

