Lomography’s Spinner 360 results

I just got my first roll of film, from my Spinner 360, back from my lab today. I’m pretty happy with the results. I also learned some valuable lessons after using the camera and looking at my scans.

When taking photos with the Spinner:

  1. hold on tight because when you let go of the cord the force of the swing will cause your hand to move
  2. it’s better to use a tripod but make sure you have tightened the head. On one of my photos when I pulled the cord I also pulled the camera over to about a 45 degree angle. I can always say I did it on purpose and chalk it up to creativity.
  3. if you don’t want to be in the photo then duck down really low. I ended up getting my shoulders in a couple of folders. Then again if you don’t want your nose to look twice its normal size then make sure you are NOT in the center of the frame.
  4. I used 400 ISO film and I feel this worked well, even in bright sun.

my navy jacket shows at the bottom

along I-84

graffiti in the abandoned Lime cement plant. my hand is at lower left

 

the hills around Pendleton. I ducked so just my finger shows

don't put yourself in the middle because it makes your nose look huge


When scanning your negatives:

  1. If you want the sprockets to show, and I did, then you’ll have to buy the Lomography DigitaLIZA 35mm scanning mask. It costs about $35, but is well worth it.
  2. I also scanned some using the mask that came with my Epson V700 scanner and this is what I got:

scanned with Epson mask and no sprocket holes

I only shot one roll of film because I wanted to see my results before I carried on. I think I am ready to learn from mistakes and try some more. My husband was skeptical when I bought the camera, but he was impressed with the results from a plastic and metal camera.

My biggest regret: I just bought the camera and now there is a limited edition leather version and it’s so pretty.

Stay tuned for my post about the Lomo Kino 35mm camera. There are some tricks to this thing.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in film, lomography, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lomography’s Spinner 360 results

  1. ashleypaige4 says:

    Great photos! So the DigitaLIZA is for scanning your film at home with a normal scanner? I’ve never heard of this before!

    • gretchen says:

      The DigitaLIZA is just a plastic form that you put the film in so that you can scan in the sprocket holes. Otherwise the holder that comes with my scanner would cut those holes off. I use an Epson V700 flat bed scanner.
      What kind of trouble do you have with your Holga? I have 3 Holgas and 2 Dianas and they each get different results. I now tape them shut because I was getting more light leaks than I like.
      I would like the Holga 3-D camera. I have an old film Stereo Realist that uses 35mm and I should probably just use that one more.
      The Spinner was really fun and I will use it more often now that I know it turns out pretty nice photos. But I hate being in a picture so i have to learn to duck faster. lol

Leave a Reply

