road trip along I-84

What is a road trip?

when traveling by bus was common

I tried looking up a definition in the dictionary but there isn’t one. So I Googled it, as you do. Here are some of the listings:

  1. the movie “Road trip” from 2000
  2. Road trip Beer Pong video from 2009
  3. a 6-piece band from Oshkosh, WI
  4. a term describing your journey through life
  5. and Wikipedia says ” a road trip is any journey taken on a road, regardless of stops en route. A long distance travelled by automobile.

Now the first two listings you can guess are some B-rated movies involving college guys chasing after women in some way or another. Okay, so that’s out for me.

I looked up the band and I’m guessing not my kind of music. ‘A journey through life’ I can understand but that’s more like a ‘map’.

making note of where you took the photo

So I’ll go with Wikipedia except that I think it is all about the stops en route. On my road trip last week, our destination was Baker City, Oregon, a town of about 10,000 people and close to the Idaho border. It’s 300 miles from Portland, our origination point. We left Portland early enough to be there before darkness, which comes at 4:00 p.m. in that part of the State in December. We didn’t make it.

long abandoned as a gas station

We took every exit off I-84 to scour the landscape for forgotten lives: abandoned gas stations, old signs, restaurants that have been around for decades. Anything really that struck our fancy. My husband drives and I scout. I am fortunate that we share the same passions: photography and history. We’ll be cruising down the Interstate and if I see something I ‘think” might be interesting he’ll find a way to turn around and check it out.

stopping to eat

 

in one end and out the other

 

better than calling it "you big pig"

Today I am sharing  a slice of the American roadside along I-84 and its exits. These were all taken with a film camera, a 35mm Canon Elan 7 ne. It’s an interesting camera because it automatically senses the ISO of the film and it focuses on the spot where your eye looks. if you have a roving eye then I’m not sure how you’d focus, but I tried looking in different areas of my composition and sure enough, the focus spot changed. I took lots of photos on this trip with other cameras too: my Hasselblad with color film, my Holga 120N with Kodak Tri X 400, my new Lomography 360 spinner and the Lomo Kino 35mm movie camera. I get the negatives from these others next weekend when I will let you know how I did with these two new cameras from the Lomography people.

let's bowl_ a favorite Friday night hang out in my younger days

 

vanishing from the American landscape

Until then, keep hitting the road. There’s a lot out there to see if you take the time to get off the main highways. I’m still waiting to do Route 66, but have to admit that I-84 across Oregon isn’t bad either.

a newspaper long gone

 

faded from memory

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, from my car, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to road trip along I-84

  1. nessavay says:

    I-84 is a rather scenic road. I enjoy that drive myself. I really love your last two photos. I wish they were a bit larger on your blog. Looking forward to seeing what you shot with your other cameras that you took along. 🙂

    • gretchen says:

      Sorry about their size. When I scanned the negatives I did the whole strip at once instead of each individual negative because I hadn’t planned on using them. I printed a contact sheet and then thought, hmmmm these would work for my blog. I’ll try to go back and rescan them as individuals and then replace the small ones. I have a very large screen so they look bigger to me. Sorry, but thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

