DOF_depth of field

It was cold this morning with the temperatures hovering below the freezing mark. Add to that a very thick fog and I am thinking “photo-op”. I only had to go out my front door to work with a shallow depth of field and a low angle of view.

Monday weather

When I use a digital camera it is usually my Canon 5D MarkII. I have several lenses, from prime to large zooms, but when I want a shallow depth of field, bokeh or am shooting in low light, I reach for my inexpensive 50mm 1.8 prime Canon lens. As prices of lenses go, this one is reasonable at about $100. A 1.4 prime lens can more than triple the cost and I haven’t found the need to trade up.

blurring it all except one spot

I also like to shoot from a low-level, sometimes resting my camera directly on the ground.

f2.8 with camera on the ground

If the weather repeats tomorrow I think I’ll head out with my Hasselblad and practice shallow DOF with that camera too.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Mornings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DOF_depth of field

  1. nessavay says:

    Love this! Beautiful shots. I love shooting from the ground too. It’s such an odd perspective that usually yields nice results.

Leave a Reply

