New cameras

Okay, so I admit it, the lomography bug has bit me and I am trying out a couple of new cameras: the new 35mm movie camera and the 360′ panoramic camera. Both made through the Lomography group, known for their toy cameras. What can I say? They were ‘on sale’ at one of my local camera stores. Neither are terribly expensive although parting with any money during these economic times takes some guts. But I have a birthday coming up and hopefully I will receive enough money to cover my splurge. 🙂

360 degree panoramic camera

I just returned from a 3-day road trip to Baker City, Oregon.  I was bold. I left my digital SLR camera at home. Yikes, did I really say that? I packed a Holga 120N with flash, my Hasselblad 500 C/M  and the two new cameras: The Spinner and the LomoKino.

35 mm movie camera

Now I wait for my film to be developed. I’ll have some of it back on Wednesday and the rest next Saturday. The waiting kills me, but I’ll try to be patient. I have other things to do while I wait…..like finally put up the rest of Christmas. Oh, and make my cards. I haven’t even done that yet. I have narrowed it down to 6 photos that I might use, but have to choose one or two.

film to be developed

So what can I say about these two new cameras? I do have some strong feelings about their ease/difficulty of use, but I think I want to wait and pass judgement after I see my first rolls of film. Come back next Saturday and I’ll share my successes and failures.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in collections, film, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New cameras

  1. ashleypaige4 says:

    I asked for the Spinner 360 for Christmas 🙂 I can’t wait to see how your photos turn out!

    • gretchen says:

      I hope you get it. I’m going to post some photos from my first roll soon. I had some issues with the camera, which I’ll discuss, but after getting the hang of it I was quite pleased. I treated myself as they were ‘on sale’. I also see that the price has dropped at the Lomography web site. Next: I’d like the Holga 3-D. What plastic cameras do you use now?

      • ashleypaige4 says:

        I just saw your film, it looks amazing! I may just have to buy one! The 3-D Holga would be amazing! I’m excited that I get to really see these through your blog! I use the lomography fisheye, and I have a 35mm Holga. I have had a lot of problems with my Holga, but I love my fisheye.

Leave a Reply

