walking and seeing

After eating a big Thanksgiving dinner yesterday I plan to start today with a nice long walk…if the rain will hold off a little longer. I was pretty good last night and did not over eat and that was not easy for all the dishes looked fantastic. Still, the day after it’s time to work off those calories.

walking in the forest

grassy paths, gavel paths, and dirt paths all mark the way

I love to walk. I do it as much as I can. In Spring, Summer and Fall I will choose my errands carefully so that my car can stay home and I use my two feet instead. If it’s too far then I will ride my bike. I try to keep my car errands to one day a week. I even walk to the mall which is 7 1/2 miles from my house, but the bad thing is that I then have to walk home again. It kind of limits me on the amount I can buy, which is probably a good thing.

pink flowers swipe at my feet

snack food

fruit or poison, I didn't dare try

But today is a walk just for fun. I will carry my camera because you never know what you will see on the way. Many times a deer has crossed my path and I have been happy that my camera was close at hand. Sometimes a walk is fast to burn more calories and sometimes it’s a ramble and others I call a nature walk. That’s when I take the time to look down at my feet and up over my head and into the trees and sky above. You never know what you might see.

farm animals have to eat too

wouldn't I love to live here

stopping along the river

These pictures today are from such a walk that I went on in September while I was in Wales. I wish we had the network of public footpaths like the ones  that criss-cross over the British Isles. They make it so easy to go out and walk. You can cut across private land, as long as you stay on the path, and they provide steps and styles to climb over fences. Whenever I visit I try to take as many of these walks as possible.

patterns of the plow

walking back to Hay

Enjoy my photos from The Warren walk in Hay on Wye and try to get out and enjoy the fresh air wherever you live.

finding toilets on a long walk can be a challenge

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Travel, Wales and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

