Out in to the garden to see what changes are coming my way

I have to admit that I tend to be a fair weather gardener. In my previous, very large garden, I planted many shrubs that had winter interest of color, berries, cones and even some flowers, but I seldom ventured out to have a look. When the dark and wet days of winter hit I can usually be found inside, by the fire, with a good book or watching an old movie. However, the winter doesn’t keep me from going out with my cameras.

go out into the garden

Now that I have downsized and own a very tiny garden with a nice terrace I tend to wander out and have a look at the changing seasons. I can almost prune with tweezers and nail scissors because the garden is so small.  I have grown to love the little space as it affords me the opportunity to travel more and spend more time on my photography.

turning colors

Japanese maple yellow

Japanese maple on its way to red

So after being gone for 7 weeks in England I thought I better see what condition my garden was in. In years past it would have meant weeks of raking leaves, pruning and dead heading. But here, I head out with the camera first and record the various stages of plants and trees. Then in a matter of an hour I have it cleaned up and I’m back inside making a cup of hot chocolate and getting out the book I am reading, “Parr on Parr”, an interview with the Bristol photographer Martin Parr. If you are not familiar with his work, google his name and have a look. I went to his show in Bristol at the new MShed Museum and loved it. Huge prints of life in England hung on the walls just tacked up with pins. He was one of the first photographers to document daily life in color and he was criticized widely for it. But his photos are captivating and a came home with a couple of his books to inspire me.

a seldom seen or smelled fragrant hydrangea

one leaf on a pottery leaf

the last of the roses

So, tell me, what do you do as the weather turns cold?

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in An idea of home, Daily Life, Gardens and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Out in to the garden to see what changes are coming my way

  1. Sue Breuner says:

    Loved the pictures Gretchen! I was a bit jealous reading about your work in the garden… I’ve barely been out except to mow the lawn. Oh well… Are you up for an outing some weekend with Sarah for some more senior pictures??? I want to get out with her before the fall color is gone. I’m hoping next weekend potentially.

Leave a Reply

