Not a big fan….

of Halloween that is. I don’t mind opening my door to people I know, but I really don’t like opening it to the ever growing number of teenagers who still go out and trick or treat. When I turned 13 that was the end of it. We didn’t go out knocking on doors anymore. We had home parties or school affairs. I don’t think 16 year olds should be trick or treating. It’s for the little kids.

a bunch of pumpkins to carve

deciding on patterns

But saying that I do decorate and I do carve the pumpkins….5 this year. I also buy tons of candy, but will confess that when I lived in a smaller neighborhood I used to buy the big candy bars. Now I have to buy the big grab bags of candy. I think we had nearly 100 kids come by last year.

pumpkin brains

sticking that knife it

I’ve also solved my phobia of opening the door to strangers. We have a stone fire pit in our front garden and on Halloween we, and some of my neighbors, gather around it and hand out our candy from there. The bonus to the kids is that I have all the fixings for s’mores too. So you get candy and you can either roast a marshmallow or have one of those gooey, sickly, sweet yet yummy s’mores.

some of my work

Oh, and I do dress up……..as an Old English Sheepdog……my favorite pet. So have a Happy Halloween and don’t terrorize your neighbors……please

this scarecrow wouldn't scare a fly

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Neighborhoods and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not a big fan….

  1. Sue Breuner says:

    Enjoyed the post Gretchen. We maybe had 25 kids come by. We’ve had fewer and fewer each year. S’mores sounds like lots of fun!

Leave a Reply

