Seeing Bristol on film

I’ve been scanning rolls of film all week…some good, some not. A few weeks before I left for England I had purchased a 1976 Hasselblad 500 C/M from Blue Moon Camera in Portland, Oregon. I have been wanting one for some time, but my budget had been for a trip and not a new camera. Holding it in my hands and looking through the waist-height viewer, well, I couldn’t resist. Instead of buying stuff on my trip that I didn’t need or have room for, I decided to add another film camera to my collection and to the weight in my overloaded backpack.

I ended up carrying about 20 pounds of gear on my trip. Plus I had all the rain protection to go over all the cameras. Luckily, in seven weeks I only had to protect my camera from rain on one day in Wales. I’m not sure I can recommend carrying so much gear because after a few weeks you tend to walk with your back at a slight angle to the ground. After 4 weeks, when my husband went home, I sent him with my pinhole and my Holga. I regretted that move later  in my trip and purchased a new Holga with flash at the Lomography store in London…..but that’s another story.

I just finished scanning  photos taken with my Hasselblad  along the floating canal in Bristol. The canal because of a series of locks along its length keeps a constant water level. Bristol used to be a very important port and during WWII was damaged badly. Now this area of the canals is mostly a tourist attraction where you can visit great museums, Brunel’s SS Great Britain,  or just sit along the docks and do a little people watching.

crane and harbor

cruising

Ron taking a photo of me taking a photo of him

colorful homes and boats

along the harbor and the MShed museum

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in England, England 2011, film, Hasselblad, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

