It’s cold

Yes, the weather here in Portland, Oregon, has turned a bit chilly, even cold. There was frost on the pumpkin this morning with fog in the low-lying areas. Just as the leaves are turning color fall is slipping away and winter is coming at us with its full force. So one last summer time post before I shift gears.

in the pink along the River Ouse

If any of you have read my blog in the past then you know I like ice cream. Well, like isn’t the right word. Love is more like it. I know I am not alone in this feeling. It’s just that no matter how bad you feel or how cold it is outside, eating ice cream makes me glow, inside and out. And so I can not, in words, express my delight when I kept seeing these darling ice cream trucks when I was visiting York, England this past month.

parked next to Clifford's tower

Ice cream vendors are all over the city. They may have permanent stalls in the markets but my favorite are the little trucks and carts. It was hot when I was in York and that made it easy to justify a scoop of Yorkshire full fledged ice cream. Forget the lite and the low-fat. When you have ice cream it has to be the real thing…..just like mayonnaise. If I am going to have the calories then I am going to enjoy them. Luckily I was walking about 10-12 miles per day.

taken with my Holga

When tourists go to Italy they come back saying you have to eat the gelato. Well, if you go to York, be sure to have the Yorkshire ice cream. It’s wonderful. Savor every bite. Sit and enjoy it while you watch people walk by. Getting the ice cream from one of these little trucks just makes the experience more enjoyable.

pull it behind your car

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in England, England 2011, film, Food, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s cold

  1. Sue Breuner says:

    What cute carts!

Leave a Reply

