Home and scanning film

I’m still a bit jet-lagged and waking up at silly times during the night and then dropping off before 8:00 p.m. in the evening. It doesn’t bother me when I head East to London, but when I return I spend about 5 days in a fog.

da plane, da plane

Not so much of a fog that I didn’t manage to pick up my developed film from Blue Moon Camera in North Portland. If you are in the area, shoot film, and want the best place for advice, developing or analogue camera lust then Blue Moon is your  kind of place. I had 20 rolls to pick up and dropped off another 10. So, in my tired state I scanned some b&w negatives last night.

Where to start? I thought I should start at the beginning. Not the beginning of my trip, but the beginning of photography. I chose three iconic pictures. Why iconic? Because they were taken at the home of Henry Fox Talbot in Lacock, England. He is credited with being THE MAN,that is, the man who made the first paper negative. He had the luxury of inheriting this amazing Abbey and having the money to tinker to his life’s content while paving the way for the rest of us to make pictures.

the famous window

This is the window where he made a picture, from the inside looking out. This was where the first negative was made and I was so surprised to see that the photo was no bigger than a postage stamp. Honestly, I was expecting an 8×10. I thought he must have made a large format camera, but no, it was a tiny little box that would easily fit in the palm of your hand.

just need the ladder and the farm hands that the original had in the photo

I decided to go around his home taking photos in the same places as he did more than 150 years ago. And I thought I should do it with film. So with my newly purchased, from Blue Moon, 1976 Hasselblad and some Kodak 400TX I set out to make my own history.

welcome to the home of Fox Talbot

Over the next days and probably weeks I will be scanning more negatives and putting them up here. Some of them might be an analogue version of one of my digital photos so you may think you’ve seen them before, but I want to share. I hope you’ll like them.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in England, England 2011, film, Hasselblad and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

