What would you do on your last day in London?

My last day in London

So what should you do on your last day in London when the sun is shining and you don’t know when you’ll visit again? I can think of at least a dozen things, but none of them include what I actually did.

My friends live in South London near Bromley. The two teenage daughters want to redo their bedroom. It’s been pink for the past 4 years but now that they are 17 and 14 they want something more grown up. So we decided to strip the walls and get it ready for a new look.

"before"

They didn’t tell me they had painted over wallpaper when they moved in 4 years ago. The paint seemed to glue the paper to the walls so armed with steamer and scraper we set to work.

steaming the walls

 

scraping the walls

After we finished the first wall in about 90 minutes we set on to the second. Oh oh, this one was more difficult. Someone had put up wire and plaster on half the upper wall. Now what? Do we remove the plaster? Nah, luckily their Dad and a friend of his know how to plaster so they are going to put new plaster on the walls after we strip them.

writing on the walls

Sophie got discouraged and decided she needed a rest. Shannon just bolted leaving Debbie and me to finish. Two walls done, two more tomorrow. Wish I could see it when it gets finished: red, white and black. New flooring. New lighting and new furniture. Then again if I stay any longer I’ll get a paint roller put into my hand and I have that chore waiting for me when I get home.

down for the count

 

Shannon gives up and takes a break with the dog

Thursday I will be back in Portland and am looking forward to it. The fall color has appeared and I want to enjoy it. Hope you have enjoyed my 7-week adventure in the UK.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in An idea of home, Daily Life, England 2011 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

