Almost time to say goodbye

 My trip is coming to an end, but I have traveled all over the country in the 7 weeks I’ve been here. I’ve met new friends and visited old ones. Took thousands of photos with both digital and film. Spent hours dealing with public transportation and hauling heavy bags. It’s been wonderful, but I am also ready to go home to Oregon. I want to see the fall colors at home and I miss my friends. It might be a year or two before I get back to England, but it will always be my home away from home.

Here’s a summary of what I did:

  1. I spent a week in Hay on Wye, Wales, combing through bookshops and walking the hills. Met a very nice professional photographer, Will Lewis, who guided me through two days of a photography tutorial in the hills above Hay and then in the villages of black and white buildings.

    books til you drop

     

    walking the public paths

  2. A week in Bristol, seeing the bridge, railway station and ship built by Brunel, the photo exhibit by Martin Parr, street art by Banksy, cathedrals and churches. Met some students from Taiwan and exchanged Flickr information and discussed photography and usage of film. Went to Bath and started talking to a woman with an old Nikon film camera around her neck and found out she was from Portland, Oregon too. We spent a delightful afternoon together on a Jane Austen tour and then high tea at the Roman Bath pump room.

    Brunel's suspension bridge

     

    discussing film cameras

  3. A week in York: walking the wall, spending time at the Minster, and a day out at Castle Howard where we met more people and gave a dog our ice cream after she kept staring at my cone. Ron stayed for 7 hours at the National Railway Museum. We spent a day just sitting by the river and watching the world go by because the days were hot and long.

    National Railway Museum

     

    a family home

     

    4. A week in Lincoln: immersing myself in Lincoln Cathedral, walking along the canal, spending hours at the library trying to get the internet to work, and visiting Hardwick Hall after train, bus and walking for a couple of miles in the wind. Walking up Steep Hill several times a day was a great work-out before eating the meat pies and rice puddings.

    opening doors

     

    walking the hill

  4. 2 weeks in London: getting to several photo galleries: street photography at the London Museum, Hungarian photographers(including Capa)at the Royal Academy, portraits of famous people at the National Portrait Gallery, the black and white photographer of the year winners in Hoxton, Whitechapel at the Whitechapel gallery, amazing photos by Don McCullin at the Imperial War Museum and the Rolling Stones in the 60’s. Wonderful to see them in print. Spent a day photographing with a London friend taking her places she had never been. Treated myself to fantastic food at Jamie Oliver’s Italian and the interesting restaurant, St John, near Spitalfields Market.Now at the home of London friends where we are just hanging out and doing family stuff.

    Trafalgar Square

     

    the Ritz

     

    Sophie, Courtney, Debbie

 

 

What a great holiday.


About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, England, England 2011, Travel, Wales and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Almost time to say goodbye

  1. Sue Breuner says:

    What a fun trip you’ve had and it’s amazing all the places you have visited! I know it will be hard to leave though I look forward to seeing you. It’s been an amazing fall day here in Portland. We just started the kitchen remodel today and have quite the mess.

    Give hugs to the Crabb’s for me and I’ll see you soon.

Leave a Reply

