let’s go shopping

Wednesday, October 12th

This might be my last day to walk around London before I head home. I decided to walk around the main shopping district off of Oxford Circus, which has to be the busiest Underground Station in London.

one of the busiest places in London

getting to the stores

I used to love shopping here, but with the exchange rate against me and with the increase in the Valued Added Tax to 20%, unless it is something I can’t get at home,  I don’t buy. Even though I seldom buy anything from the tacky souvenir shops, I find it fun to visit them and see what they are offering this year. As you would guess, there was a lot of stuff for the Olympics and for celebrating William and Kate’s wedding. Still I bought nothing. I am tempted, but I think about what I will do with the crap after it gets home and there just isn’t room.

a must-do stop

temptations

I like taking photos of shop windows, reflections and all. I thought the gloves with the sensitive tips would have been a good buy but I passed them up. I guess you can wear them and still operate your iPhone and iPad. Hmmmmm, I wonder if I can get back here.

gloves to use with your iPad and iPhone: should have bought some

I wasn’t interested in the men’s clothing, but I love the old camera in the display, but Not For Sale. Good thing.

I'll take the prop

I was hungry at this point and those cakes looked so tempting, but I was good and got myself a sandwich and sat in the sun in Trafalgar Square and watched the people.

a shopping break?

Soon it was 3:30 and if I wanted a ride to my friend’s house I needed to make my way to Belgrave Square and the Germany Embassy, where one of my English friend’s works. He told me the Embassy was the one on the square wrapped in scaffolding and tarps, but he should realize that about a third of the buildings are in the same condition. Off I go.

London is under wraps
About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in England, England 2011, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to let’s go shopping

  1. Narty says:

    I simply could not depart your blog prior to recommending that I seriously liked the standard info a person provide for your website visitors? Is actually going to be back often in order to check up on new articles.

  2. I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays..

  3. That was sort of inspiring! Completely unpredicted. Now I am aware what I am heading to do tomorrow

Leave a Reply

